The Devinci Dixon - my build and review.

PB Forum :: Devinci
The Devinci Dixon - my build and review.
  • Previous Page
Posted: Jul 30, 2011 at 15:14 Quote
I've never written a thread likes this before, so it might be really boring. Consider yourself warned.

For several months now, I've been riding a 2011 Devinci Wilson and a 2011 Dixon both here in the UK as well as in Switzerland and Austria. I absolutely adore the Wilson, I think it's one of the best DH bikes available at the moment. But whereas the Wilson has been hyped to high heaven and everyone pretty much knows how good it is, I think the Dixon has fallen by the wayside a little bit. I figured I'd write up a little thread about the build on my Dixon and my experiences with the bike so far as there's not much up on the net about either of Devinci's two smaller Split-Pivot frames yet.

It has taken me a long time to find the perfect trail / AM bike for my riding. I've had (amongst others) a Tomac Eli, Santa Cruz Heckler, Commencal Meta, and most recently an Ellsworth Epiphany built up with a 150mm Revelation. I don't race XC or ride epic tours, and because I ride a lot of DH, my ideal "small bike" is light and fast but quite slack so it doesn't feel too nervous compared to my big bike. I want it to be strong enough for me to take to the Alps and ride it all day when I don't feel like riding the big bike, but more importantly it has to be perfect for me to ride in the UK and have fun all year round.