Quitting smoking- I did it, so can you!! (Read 1st Post)

PB Forum :: Fitness, Training and Health
Quitting smoking- I did it, so can you!! (Read 1st Post)
  • Previous Page
Posted: Dec 20, 2011 at 3:42 Quote
Original Post: So I've been smoking for 11 years, used to be on over 20 a day until last year. Now I'm on 3 roll ups a day. Problem is going cold turkey. I plan on quitting at the end of this month.
Has anybody else quit smoking? How easy is it?
I'd been riding XC for 5 years and it did me in then. But now I'm doing road and it's even worse to catch my breath.
I know there are nicotine patches etc. but I want to just stop without any patches etc.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

Update (after one week of no smoking} If anybody reads this in the future, all I can say is; it's hard for the first 2-3 days, but after that you'll fight the cravings.

It's actually easier to go cold turkey without patches or inhalers etc.

Fight the power, man up, and fight the habit.

Posted: Dec 22, 2011 at 22:40 Quote
Good luck bud on the cold turkey thing.... I can only imagine it would be extremely difficult. I don't smoke but my wife does and is it very controlling. I ride alot and she rides occationally but of course the cigs go everywhere with her and I know her ability to take in air when she rides hampers her alot. what she is doing now to wein herself off the cig is she's trying those electronic (fake) cigarettes and she has cut down but it will be interesting to see down the road what effect it will have on her habit. They look real when she puffs on one with the glowing cherry on the tip and the oderless mist which mimics cigarette smoke and it gives her the impression of actually smoking. One of these cost around $28.00 here in Canada and will last about two weeks. Good luck however on which ever method you choose.

Posted: Dec 24, 2011 at 17:28 Quote