CAD/3D Printing

PB Forum :: Off-Topic
CAD/3D Printing
Posted: Feb 20, 2014 at 20:43 Quote
mtnbkrforlife wrote:
I did that in AutoCAD. This is my first year taking an engineering course in school so I'm just getting the hang of advanced engineering programs. I'm not quite sure what the printing software or printer is but my teacher said it was a $20k machine. I can probably find out next week if you'd like to know. We've printed some pretty cool stuff with it like a fully operational wrench, a detailed skull and arm/hand, a glider that flies, etc.

I've been looking for another 3D modeling program that would be better for designing frames with weird curvature and stuff. Can I get rhino free or for a discount if I'm a student? I'd like to try some other programs.

What do you think the best AutoDesk program would be for that kind of thing? I'm wondering if I can get some other Autodesk programs for free too. My teacher showed us how to get AutoCAD at home for free but I find it to be a struggle when designing complex 3D objects. It must've taken me a good 12 hours just to design that Glory haha

And I'm still waiting for the OK from my teacher to print the Glory. The 3D printer was having problems the last time I checked but it should be fixed now. He's allowing me to bump the scale up so instead of it being 4.5 inches in length total it'll be about 11.25. I'm pumped!

That's pretty good for AutoCAD. I feel like the majority of the industry for engineering uses solid works but I don't know. I'm in architecture so I use revit and rhino. Rhino you can get discounted as a student. Autodesk doesn't really have anything great for 3d as far as my preferences are concerned, but you can get them all for free with a student discount.

In school we had 3 makerbots and a 3d uprint which was awesome. Makerbots are cool but the lower end models aren't super precise

Posted: Feb 21, 2014 at 10:00 Quote