CAD/3D Printing

PB Forum :: Off-Topic
CAD/3D Printing
  • Next Page
Posted: Jun 5, 2014 at 23:32 Quote
chrisclifford wrote:
Autodesk (makers of AutoCAD) are based about 4 miles from my house but I don't like any of their products...as an engineering student I can tell you that Solidworks is by far the most used program in the industry, Sketchup isn't really a CAD software and AutoCAD hasn't been updated for about a decade. Solidworks is a $2000+ suite of software though and overkill for modeling bike parts

Not to be rude, but living near autodesk doesn't really make you an aficionado on it. Solid works is great, but as a draftsman in an architecture firm I can tell you that every one of our consultants (structural, electrical, mech/plumbing) and our firm all use AutoCAD. I would say revit is more the future but you've got to be stuck on crazy if you think that AutoCAD is an inferior product. Oh and as for sketch up... The people who bag on sketch up the most are usually the ones who don't know how to use it to its fullest potential. Just sayin...

I really really don't mean to call you out man, and I don't know what kind of engineering student you are (so solidworks may be the most widely used in your niche) but maybe try approaching your "discussions" in a more humble manner. Cuz honestly I think there are a few people I'm this thread (myself included) that would like to know a lot more about all of these programs (for the record, I don't really know solid works much but would love to try it someday).

Cheers

Posted: Jun 6, 2014 at 3:14 Quote
kev211 wrote: