Decision Time - Avid vs Shimano, 29er vs 26er, Specialized Stumpy vs Giant Reign

PB Forum :: Beginners
Decision Time - Avid vs Shimano, 29er vs 26er, Specialized Stumpy vs Giant Reign
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Feb 20, 2014 at 8:28 Quote
Hey folks! I'm that kind of guy that likes to over think the sh*t out of decisions...so I've been mauling over this decision for a while now! I need your help...

I'm looking to get back in the sport in a big way. I haven't rode for nearly a decade and even back then I wasn't too serious. I started taking my Gary Fisher out last year and I love it. Problem is I want more than my 1990's hardtail can offer! I'm a novice rider, intermediate at best, who enjoys cross country, trail, and downhill riding. I'm looking to buy a bike that I can grow into. Anyway, enough of the intro...let me get to the question:

I have 2 bikes that I'm choosing between:
1) 2013 Giant Reign 1 (26er) $2450 (after 15% discount)
http://www.giant-bicycles.com/en-us/bikes/model/reign.1/11517/55878/#specifications

2) 2013 Specialized FSR Stumpjumper Comp 29er $2400 (after 15%)
http://www.specialized.com/us/en/bikes/archive/2013/sjfsr/stumpjumperfsrcomp29

The list price was higher but these 2013 models come with a discount, so its hard to fine a better bike (component wise) for the same price. I have to say, I was oblivious to the wheel size war that's been going on for some years now. But reading up on the pros/cons, I think I would like to try a 29er. The benefits (speed, traction, roll) all seem to line up with my preferences and beginner style. The big draw to a 26er is for technical rides and responsiveness. I don't think I need that because I'm not all that good. Maybe in a few years. So this is my first crossroads.