Trying to upgrade Trek Marlin 2013, what do you think?

PB Forum :: 29ers
Trying to upgrade Trek Marlin 2013, what do you think?
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Jan 23, 2015 at 22:23 Quote
So I'm relatively new to Mtn biking. This is the first bike I've owned and I'm really enjoying it, and it was pretty affordable. I am noticing that it could use a few upgrades though, and since I'm still a college dude on a budget I'd like to keep that theme.

First of all, the breaks definitely need an upgrade and I'm thinking the Avid BB7's are perfect.
Next, I'd really like to upgrade the shocks, and this is where I need advice. The better/affordable ones I've looked at on this site seem like they're more for 26" bikes. I want something with a little more give, like >130mm. Now, this Trek is a 29er so I'm assuming you can't put shocks for 26" bikes on a 29er, right? So this leaves me wondering what's a good quality fork that I can put on him that's under $400?

As for further upgrades, what would you guys suggest I do? I mainly use this bike for trail riding and some semi technical stuff and hitting small jumps here and there. I'd like it to be more efficient and safe for downhill/technical stuff, that's why I need better brakes and shocks. So what else could improve it for my needs?

Mod O+
Posted: Jan 23, 2015 at 22:36 Quote
Personally I would only upgrade something if the part breaks or wears out. In the mean time save as much money as you can and put it towards a new or used bike with a much better all around parts spec.

The bike new ran for around $700, putting a $400 dollar fork on it would just not make sense. Same goes for the brakes you are talking about upgrading your current mechanical brakes to another set of mechanical brakes, not worth it in my opinion.

Like I said already, ride the crap out of it and save your money for an all around better spec'ed bike. You will be much happier with this decision in the long run.

Posted: Jan 24, 2015 at 9:50 Quote