Tubeless vs Inner tubes, worth the money of converting?

PB Forum :: Downhill
Tubeless vs Inner tubes, worth the money of converting?
Posted: Jun 19, 2015 at 5:58 Quote
I've just ordered a Stan's No Tubes conversion kit. Will be running tubeless ready Maxxis Ardents on shitty no-name Mondraker rims. I'll report back how I get on.

Posted: Jun 19, 2015 at 7:55 Quote
I'm new to the tubeless world and it's working well for me so far. Chinese Carbon Hookless 35mm Wides, Gorilla tape, Mavic Stems and some Stan's and Maxxis Minions DHF /Dhr2s. The worst part of the set up was getting the Minions on the rims. Seating beads was no problem, and after about 7 or 8 rides in the last 2 weeks I've had no leaks, nor problems. Air pressures haven't changed unless I do it my self. I still carry a tube just in case.

Posted: Jun 19, 2015 at 8:47 Quote
Crownan wrote:
I've just ordered a Stan's No Tubes conversion kit. Will be running tubeless ready Maxxis Ardents on shitty no-name Mondraker rims. I'll report back how I get on.

i used the stans tape a few times. I much rather prefer using Gorilla tape when lapping to non tubeless rims, seems to hold and conform better to the inner rim surface. Also you can more easily dial in the width of gorilla tape than you could using the stiff stans tape.

Posted: Jun 19, 2015 at 16:35 Quote
ProChargedZ28 wrote:
Crownan wrote:

i used the stans tape a few times. I much rather prefer using Gorilla tape when lapping to non tubeless rims, seems to hold and conform better to the inner rim surface. Also you can more easily dial in the width of gorilla tape than you could using the stiff stans tape.

Thanks, I'll bear that in mind if I come unstuck (pardon the pun!)

Posted: Jun 19, 2015 at 20:39 Quote
markunit10 wrote:
with tubes, you know whats gonna happen every time. tubeless you might get a flat, you might not.

I think you got them backwards bro.

Posted: Jun 19, 2015 at 21:34 Quote
kent wrote:
markunit10 wrote: