Going Single Speed but have no idea

PB Forum :: Bikes, Parts, and Gear
Going Single Speed but have no idea
  • Previous Page
Posted: Jul 31, 2015 at 8:39 Quote
I am one of those riders who is just learning the lay of the land with bike mechanics. I ride downhill/freeride with a Giant Reign X2 (mostly stock). I've had some good luck so far, no broken hangers or replaced parts on my dérailleur. However I am getting tired of keeping things on my bike to which I don't use. I only use the bike for DH/FR and in the past three years I've used the gears very little, so I doubt I would miss that much. Plus I case jumps like its my day job lol. Coupled with the fact that I am just learning How to repair my bike at home (with YouTube/ big blue book) and failing at it; trailside maintaince to the dérailleur area freaks me out. So to avoid that and to eliminate that which I don't use.... I've decided to go single speed.

What parts will I need all in all?

What conversion kits do you recommend?

Can I use my existing truvativ bash guard?

Thanks riders!!

Posted: Jul 31, 2015 at 8:44 Quote
What model year is your Reign 2?

Posted: Jul 31, 2015 at 8:49 Quote
nakos wrote:
What model year is your Reign 2?

2009. ( A bike shop by me bought it by mistake and was a left over for two years until I snatched it up for cheap). It's a vertical dropout

Posted: Jul 31, 2015 at 9:34 Quote
I just realized as I was halfway thru writing my response, you said single speed. As in fixed gear, right, and not a single chain ring (e.g. 1x10)?

If that's the case you will need new cranks, a rear cog (I'd suggest finding your favorite gearing before removing the drivetrain and recording the gear ratio to use on the single speed), the proper cassette tool to remove your rear cassette, crank puller (to remove the cranks), a new chain and chain breaker. I'm not too familiar with single speed, but you will need this stuff for sure to upgrade.