Chinese Brake Pads

PB Forum :: Mechanics' Lounge
Chinese Brake Pads
  • Previous Page
Posted: Aug 31, 2015 at 23:21 Quote
So I recently blew through my organic pads on my shimano BR-M395 hydros, so I hit eBay to look for some deals on brake pads. I found two pairs of no name chinese sintered pads for $15 shipped. I was wondering if anyone had any experience with chinese pads, specifically sintered pads. I am afraid of them failing. Anything would be appreciated.

Posted: Sep 1, 2015 at 18:26 Quote
It's not like brake pads are that expensive. Might as well go with a trusted company since you're gonna save a huge chunk of money getting no-brand ones.

Posted: Sep 1, 2015 at 20:03 Quote
foobajoob wrote:
It's not like brake pads are that expensive. Might as well go with a trusted company since you're gonna save a huge chunk of money getting no-brand ones.

Well, I actually am saving a huge chunk of money, because I am a student and I am on a tight budget. I was just asking for people's experiences with chinese pads, so I can know what to expect. ie are they better than the stock pads.

Posted: Sep 1, 2015 at 20:20 Quote
My guess is that they'd be at best comparable to stock pads. Definitely wouldn't expect them to be better. The biggest issue with the no-brand chinese components is that the quality isn't as controlled and consistent as the products that have to have a big brand name put on them. So you could end up with a good batch, and have a good set of pads for super cheap, but you could also end up with a bad batch and you're just kinda screwed. So the cheaper price is enticing, but comes with higher risk.

Posted: Sep 2, 2015 at 17:12 Quote
foobajoob wrote: