Rotator cuff injury

• Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Dec 30, 2015 at 13:32 Quote
Has anyone used any form of shoulder brace while riding,I have a full rotator cuff tear which is inoperable,I still want to ride,but i need to protect my shoulder, even small crashes take ages to come back from. I have a physical job (i am a builder)I should give it up ,but after 25 years riding ,its difficult to do .So any advice would be appreciated

Posted: Jan 11, 2016 at 10:57 Quote
TOMMY-T-one wrote:
Has anyone used any form of shoulder brace while riding,I have a full rotator cuff tear which is inoperable,I still want to ride,but i need to protect my shoulder, even small crashes take ages to come back from. I have a physical job (i am a builder)I should give it up ,but after 25 years riding ,its difficult to do .So any advice would be appreciated

I've been running the EVS brace for several months. I've had 4 Labrum surgeries on my shoulder and after the last incident have not been inclined to try out a 5th. The brace gives me a lot of stability while riding, and I've never felt like I was going to have dislocation while wearing it.

I also have been doing a lot of research on surgical alternatives. I am going in next week to try our a procedure called Prolotherapy. They essentially inject the shoulder in a few locations with dextrose (form of glucose) to cause a micro injury that will cause the ligaments to repair themselves. They also will add some of my own PRP and some HGH into the injection to promote the healing process. I obviously can't give you a first hand report on how it is yet but from everything I've read up on this actually might be a better solution than surgery. I belong to a well known sports recovery clinic and they have seen some good progress on all sorts of athletes looking for an alternative to surgery.