Is it time to hang up my wheels for my mental and physical health?

PB Forum :: Fitness, Training and Health
Is it time to hang up my wheels for my mental and physical health?
  • Previous Page
Posted: Feb 12, 2016 at 17:34 Quote
Hi all!

I am writing this post to see if anyone else crashes a lot? I have been riding for about 3 years now (I am 31) and have had 1 broken collar bone, my forearm ripped open needing 14 stitches and a week in the hospital, small bails and today landing off camber on a jump I have done a lot resulting in a massively grazed forearm and back!

My mate who I ride with goes damn hard and has excelled a lot more than me has had one small crashReally Mad . This is doing my head in, is it me, is it my bike? Or I am I just really shit at this? Every time a crash or get hurt it takes the joy out of riding for me to the point that I am thinking of giving up and finding my jollies somewhere else! I ride a Merida 160Cry mainly park and gravity trailsSmile .

I do have and wear protection but it does take the feeling of freedom away for me and gives a false sense of security I recon. I do love mountain biking and I think about it 24/7, but my family comes first and I have to be there for them and I can't do that being mangled. Is there anyone else who has been through the same or feels the same that can give me some words of wisdom/inspiration? And if you want to take the piss fine by me, I can and do laugh at myself!

Cheers

J

Posted: Feb 12, 2016 at 23:33 Quote
I was heading down this road as well.....went from a more xc rider to getting in to a biiiiig bike and trying to huck anything i could and ride down anything with a hint of dirt on it....and the injuries came.

I just dialed it back and really concentrated on an all around riding style. going for smooth speed rather than balls out sketched out. I started to look for ways to pump for speed and to ride cleaner and to be honest i am much happier and i have more fun now...and I am now 43.