New and need some advice

PB Forum :: Dirt Jumping & Street
New and need some advice
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Jun 11, 2016 at 7:29 Quote
Hi, im totally new to the dirt jump and mountain biking scene and im currently looking for a new bike, i love the style of dirt jump frames and will be using this bike for commuting to work (around 3 miles, not many hills) and also learning jumps on the weekends, i would also like to try possibly some street riding and maybe the occassional trail riding.

I have been looking at a few bikes and im unsure which way to go and was hoping for some help.

Info about me: 5ft 10" average build

The 2 bikes which i am looking at just now are listed with the specs below, hopefully someone can shed some light on which one i should buy as i see some things i like and dont like on each bike and the price is pretty much the same for each one.

Option 1

DMR Sidekick 2 (this one looks a bit old)
9 Speed Shimano SLX gearing
Hope hydraulic discs front and rear
Halo tornado wheels
Hone crankset
Charge saddle
and what looks like cheap forks? (im unsure of the brand)

https://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/NTc1WDEwMjQ=/z/qhoAAOSw74FXOf11/$_86.JPG

The cons i see with this one is, it looks like it could do with a decent clean up but it has gears which im more leaning towards for the commuting and light trails that i may do. cheap forks look like they may need an upgrade.

Option 2

identiti 666
fox air forks kashima
avid alixr rear hydraulic brake
kona wide handlebars
bolt through shimano front wheel with maxxis off road tyres
raceface stem
adjustable rear mech to fit 24" wheels

https://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/NzAxWDEwMjQ=/z/oPkAAOSwmtJXUsDp/$_86.JPG

The cons i see with this one is its a single gear so may not be very suitable for what i want to do with it, pros: its a sexy bike with sexy parts.

So if i needed to run gears in the future would it be something that can be done on the identiti relatively easy?

Thanks in advance for your help