chromoly vs aluminum

PB Forum :: Dirt Jumping & Street
chromoly vs aluminum
Previous Page |
Posted: Oct 4, 2007 at 19:06 Quote
I have a question. I went riding today with my buddy that just bought a chase. I have a ritual and thought it was a little heavy, then I rode his and its way lighter and I like that.

I searched and couldnt come up with what Im looking for. Would I be better off selling my frame and getting something like a used p1, or looking for a lighter chromoly frame.

Im 200lbs and a total noob jumping small stuff. I hear people saying aluminum will break but I dont jump big enough to do much damage. My bike is also running 24s and I totally liked his 26s better.

On that note, anyone want to trade frames and bottom brakets, lol!

Posted: Oct 4, 2007 at 19:08 Quote
aluminum is plenty strong, the only real difference i find is the feel between the 2, aluminum is noticably stiffer and less comfortable to ride without suspension. also there is a weight difference, but this is not signifficant in frames because of the difference in tubing size.
chromoly is better for street/dj in my opinion

Posted: Oct 4, 2007 at 19:09 Quote
chromoly. skinnier frames = sexy times

Posted: Oct 4, 2007 at 19:13 Quote
I can deal with stiffness. I hate the weight though. I do know my bike is one of the heavy frames out there. What would be a good frame thats lighter then mine.

As far as chromoly is skinnier which is sexy. I dont care about looks, Im more of a function guy.

Posted: Oct 4, 2007 at 19:16 Quote
chromo is nice but its stiff aka less give when u screw up aka higher risk of snapping it.and it rusts.

Aluminum will not rust its flexier and has some give if you crew up it is generally easier to dent and a we heavier i think in my mind.

i perfer chromo becasue its stiffer feel and my budys top which is chromo feels way whippier then my stp
just my life savings 2 cents

Posted: Oct 4, 2007 at 19:17 Quote