Am I doing it right?

PB Forum :: BMX (20")
Am I doing it right?
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Jan 3, 2017 at 7:53 Quote
So about two years ago I bought a 2010 WTP Volta complete to get into BMX. I always wanted to ride when I was a kid and had a shitty, super heavy BMX when I was younger but I just rode around on it.

I'm 28 now and I've been riding mtb for three years and I'm not too shabby a rider when it comes to the bigger bikes. The problem is though I just can't get into BMX properly? For me it just feels uncomfortable and twitchy and I can't get that feeling of "oneness" I have with my Santa Cruz Nomad which fits like a glove! I'm 5'11" so I'm not a giant or anything like it.

Volta already has a 21" TT and 8.25" bars which were cut down to 680mm by previous owner.

I've just ordered an Eastern Throttle top load stem to try and bring my bars up a bit which I'm hoping will make it feel a bit more comfortable for me but has anyone else had this problem?
I've tried brakeless and with a rear brake too and I think I'm actually going to go back to a rear brake for now and see if it's better.

Do I just need to ride more and keep at it or is it just not for me?

Unsecure image, only https images allowed: http://a1.amlimg.com/MTMyZjAwYWNlYmU5ZWY2N2RhYjkyNzgzZmY4MDM5ZjM7JKftoWxJxECuBCZEPCVpaHR0cDovL21lZGlhLmFkc2ltZy5jb20vYzNjNmVkZDgyMTU4ZTRkZTcxMzc0M2UxMDA5MzQxZDU3OGRmMmRhODliMzVjNGU0OTlmYTIwZjk4OGI1MTFmYy5qcGd8fHx8fHwzOTZ4MjkyfGh0dHA6Ly93d3cuYWR2ZXJ0cy5pZS9zdGF0aWMvaS93YXRlcm1hcmsucG5nfHx8.jpg

Posted: Jan 3, 2017 at 15:34 Quote
Keep on riding and eventually youll start to get the feel of it.
I had the same issue many years ago when I went from the MTB and wanted to get back into BMX Racing. tried hopping onto a 20 and just couldn't get the feeling either.