Massachusetts freeride? where?

PB Forum :: Trail Building
Massachusetts freeride? where?
O+
Posted: Sep 16, 2016 at 8:02 Quote
I'm new to the Cambridge/Somerville area and I'm also looking for good freeride-ish trails.

So far I've been to Middlesex Fells (no built-up freeride trails there) but I've also been to Beaver Brook Reservation near Waltham/Belmont. Beaver Brook has some hits on a few trails and a small pumptrack that's fun. I've heard good things about Blue Hills though haven't gone yet.

What else is close to Boston that's good?

O+
Posted: Sep 18, 2016 at 20:48 Quote
If you're looking for local trails, Vietnam and Lynn woods probably have the best freeride stuff.

As for bike parks, Highland and Thunder mountain are both fantastic. If you're looking for more downhill oriented trails, Plattekill in new york is a great choice.

Posted: Jan 26, 2018 at 10:57 Quote
Anyone want to build in the Haverhill area

Posted: Feb 5, 2018 at 12:11 Quote
Haverhill needs some good DH. I was out scoping the hill on the backside of Lake Kenoza last week. I'm down to build!

Posted: Feb 5, 2018 at 12:58 Quote
Agreed!! Kenoza is tricky to build there now, there NEMBA managed now, plus super busy, you cut a line over there and...whatch out. I got a talking to for a jib on the side of a trail a year ago. But ive been scoping the millville pond area, some potential there! A pedal away from kenoza...plus, some other areas I have in my mind, I just haven't done the surveying yet.

Posted: Feb 5, 2018 at 13:41 Quote
Oh no kidding? Wow I had no idea they were strict about that. Kenoza is on my way home from work so I tend to ride weekday evenings in the summer. I guess my plan to slowly make some improvements is a bust. Thats a bummer. I found "Millvale Reservoir" on the map. Is that where you were thinking?

Posted: Feb 5, 2018 at 13:46 Quote