BMX vs DIRT JUMPER

PB Forum :: Dirt Jumping & Street
BMX vs DIRT JUMPER
  • Previous Page
Posted: May 22, 2008 at 23:16 Quote
I know this topic has been beaten to death and I searched but none of the threads gave me the answer I'm looking for. I've been bmxing for about 8 years but I haven't been on my bike in the past 2. I'm getting back into it but now that I'm older and have a lot of responsibilites I can't afford to get hurt anymore, I want to take it easy at the dirt jumps. No more big tricks, I plan on just doing what I know and cruising the 6 packs.

My question is, would I be able to launch as high as I can on a bmx? Or should I say would it be just as easy or easier. I can see dirt jump bikes being a lot smoother and more forgiving especially on the wrists. I would love to go out and try it for myself but none of my friends have dirt jumpers that I could borrow. if anyone has any personal experience, if you've done both bmx and mountain bike dirt jumping any info would be great. I should add that it'll only be used for dirt jumps and trails. I have my bmx for street.

PS: What would be better 24" or 26" and why?

Posted: May 23, 2008 at 9:38 Quote
you should use seach.

if youre into riding trails then a bmx is what you should ride. however some people find them a little twitchy. if you ride proper trails you should go for a 20" or a nice compact 24" mtb (bmx cruisers are filth). 26" wheels should stay on the dh tracks and round xc routes, theyre just not as good as 24" for riding trails for very obvious reasons

Posted: May 23, 2008 at 22:12 Quote
"Filth"? I don`t know about that....

O+
Posted: May 23, 2008 at 22:18 Quote
Kbone wrote: