Home Made Bikes

Posted: Mar 6, 2015 at 8:25 Quote
madm3chanic wrote:
willems wrote:
Here is a project i've been working on. Just welded it up today. Can't wait to see how it rides.

Custom frame

by the look of it, it aint gonna ride bad! short travel, pivots in the right spot, nice linkage up there wiv a good rising rate by the look o tings, ticks all the boxes. nice triangle- where'd you get those swoopy tubes?

i take it its a re-made front triangle jobby? the stays and links look to be from some other bike?

Thanks! It has 150mm of travel, built around a 150mm fork.

I work in the bike industry so the tubes are just some parts in the scrap bin that I harvested... Can't say which ones...

Oh, and the deer painting: apparently it my girlfriends family heirloom from the 1800's. hahahaha.

Posted: Mar 6, 2015 at 8:57 Quote
that must be a good lookin scrap bin brother!

Posted: Mar 6, 2015 at 9:29 Quote
madm3chanic wrote:
that must be a good lookin scrap bin brother!

I'm sure it would make a few bike enthusiasts go weak at the knees. hahaha

Posted: Mar 6, 2015 at 14:35 Quote
Looks like it will ride like a Rocky, your in for a treat my man. Keep us updated on that thing.

Posted: Mar 7, 2015 at 1:05 Quote
Sweet looking rig! Got a bit of progress for mine, not started making it yet which was partly down to surgery this week.
Anyway all my tubes and bar has arrived.
photo

Also bought an Alfine hub as my gearbox is still quite a while off being ready to build, strange thing is I thought the shifting would be opposite to normal after trying a zerode but on my one it's just standard which is a bonus!

photo

And I figured I might as well show you one of my Cad drawings of the frameset.

photo

O+
Posted: Mar 7, 2015 at 7:14 Quote
wow. Pretty complex! It makes me confused!

Posted: Mar 8, 2015 at 1:05 Quote