Question about rear shock length

PB Forum :: Mechanics' Lounge
Question about rear shock length
Previous Page |
Posted: Feb 15, 2009 at 16:18 Quote
Hi.

Just me thinking...

Anyway, I just took my shock out of my 2004 Stinky to clean it up, put in a stiffer spring, etc. I was looking at my eye to eye measurement (7.875 stock) and was wondering if I could put a longer shock in for a bit more travel. The wheel drops another inch and a bit after I take the stock shock out, and I did a theoretical measurement with the shock out. I could fit in a 8.5 inch eye to eye shock fairly easily I think. When I set the wheel into position so that the bolts are 8.5 inches apart, there is still some room before "topping out."

Would I be able to do this? It's a 2004 and I am not the original owner, so I am not worried about voiding the warranty, etc. Seems logical to me, but I am not a mechanic so maybe there is something I'm not considering. Looking at the 2004 Tech manual, the only suspension difference I see between the Stinky (6" travel) and the Stinky Deluxe (7" travel) was the eye to eye measurement of the rear shock (8.5 inches for the Deluxe).

Posted: Feb 15, 2009 at 16:37 Quote
A few years ago I recall reading a letter in one of the MTB mags (I want to say it was in Mountain Bike Action) where someone had asked basically the same question.

Basically the response was that "yes" you'd get an additional suspension travel but you won't actually be getting an additional rear travel.

I also recall that the editor discouraged doing this because it would most likely alter the BB height; making it higher. He also went on to say that the extra travel is there to help the shock "recover" and prevent it from packing up and the "correct" way to have an adjustable rear travel is to change the shock mount location.

Again, this was a few years ago (4+ years) and I don't know how much truth there is to this.