Bike Painting Guides and Pictures of Your Work

PB Forum :: Mechanics' Lounge
Bike Painting Guides and Pictures of Your Work
Posted: Jun 13, 2016 at 3:30 Quote
Any of you used Spray.bike spray paint/powder stuff before? Came across it on the internets and seems like a really good idea. Will be getting an old steel road frame in the next few days (bent mine at the headtube crashing into a car :/) which will most likely have fugly or scratched paint due to age and wanted to paint a frame for a while now. This seems like an easier option for a complete noob as it doesn't seem as finicky or dribbly as standard rattle can paint.

Any opinions?

Posted: Jun 13, 2016 at 7:11 Quote
What is bike spray paint/powder stuff?

Posted: Jun 13, 2016 at 7:39 Quote
trozei wrote:
What is bike spray paint/powder stuff?

http://spray.bike/ this stuff

Posted: Jun 26, 2016 at 5:54 Quote
Im gonna paint a my frame . What would be best for marking off shapes ? I think ducktape will be too sticky and take off the paint. And masking tape seems to small . Any tips ?

Posted: Jun 26, 2016 at 6:10 Quote
Haddow-B wrote:
Im gonna paint a my frame . What would be best for marking off shapes ? I think ducktape will be too sticky and take off the paint. And masking tape seems to small . Any tips ?

Lots of masking tape I would think

Posted: Jun 26, 2016 at 6:34 Quote
Haddow-B wrote:

Use painter's tape, its usually blue or green. Its similar to masking tape but it has less glue so it won't peel the base layer.

Posted: Jun 26, 2016 at 12:29 Quote
No. Use automotive masking tape. It is resistant to solvents, heat, and is better overall. If your existing paint is not to be trusted, de-tack it by sticking it against your pant leg first.

Posted: Jun 27, 2016 at 9:39 Quote
Anyone ever used the spray.bike rattle can paint? Supposedly very good.

Posted: Jun 27, 2016 at 12:04 Quote
projectCustoms wrote: