The Cyclocross Thread

PB Forum :: 29ers
The Cyclocross Thread
  • Previous Page
Posted: Feb 8, 2010 at 12:10 Quote
I know this is completely the wrong time of year to start this thread but I just noticed there isn't a dedicated CX thread. So talk about races, post you CX bike and all that stuff here Big Grin

Posted: May 12, 2010 at 11:07 Quote
madd-matt wrote:
I know this is completely the wrong time of year to start this thread but I just noticed there isn't a dedicated CX thread. So talk about races, post you CX bike and all that stuff hear Big Grin

Can anyone help suggest a low budget cx fork I can use to convert my roadie into a cx build? Can I use a fork from a rigid touring bike? I think the rake is incorrect for tight handling. I've never built a cx bike before. It will be full Tiagra and I'm undecided on rubber. I imagine the Racelights will have to come off - I think I have some Wobbler rims that would work out ok....

Thanks,
Andrew.

Posted: May 16, 2010 at 20:44 Quote
You could do a Surly Cross Check fork. It's one of my favorites and is relatively cheap.

Posted: May 16, 2010 at 20:47 Quote
singlespeedtoday wrote:
You could do a Surly Cross Check fork. It's one of my favorites and is relatively cheap.

Thanks! I actually ended up finding a fork from a solo cx bike. We'll see how it goes. Now to get some rubber. I am using Mavic Aksium wheels (don't plan on racing or being too terribly aggressive or techincal so I'm hoping they should be ok).

A.

Posted: May 16, 2010 at 21:12 Quote
The Aksium's should be solid. Just stay away from the technical downhill trails! Beer

I'm using 32c WTB Cross Wolf Race tires, they're super fast and still have tons of grip in the deep stuff!

O+
Posted: May 22, 2010 at 13:13 Quote
Last season I was thinking there should be a cross thread.... now i see there is one..... good.
Shall we show off our cross bikes in this thread also?

Posted: May 22, 2010 at 13:32 Quote
Well heres my Specialized Tricross:
photo