Building the Swatch Rocket Air Course in 16 Steps

Apr 29, 2016 at 2:31
Apr 29, 2016
by Flying Metal  
 
You must login to Pinkbike.
Don't have an account? Sign up

Join Pinkbike  Login

In 2016, things get wild in Thun, Switzerland. For this year's Swatch Rocket Air Slopestyle Competition, the course builders of the Flying Metal Crew turned the ice rink into a tropical rainforest. With the theme 'Welcome to the Jungle,' one can find animal wildlife, Mayan ruins und lots of exotic plants in an environment you usually wouldn't expect it. As the Swatch Rocket Air has become an FMB Gold Event this year, the building crew has put in hundreds of man-hours to build an epic course with spectacular features that serve the FMB athletes needs and expectations. Here's a quick look at how we built the course for the 2016 Swatch Rocket Air in 16 Steps

Swatch Rocket Air 2016
Step 1: Figure out a cool theme and design flyers.

Swatch Rocket Air 2016
Step 2: Design a course with crazy features.

Foto Andr Maurer
Step 3: Carry over 3500 pallets into the ice rink.

Foto www.andremaurer.ch
Step 4: Put together loads of scaffolding.

Foto www.andremaurer.ch
Step 5: Move in tons of dirt, spread it and compress it.

Foto www.andremaurer.ch
Step 6: Build massive wooden features.

Foto www.andremaurer.ch
Step 7: Spray paint bricks for jungle ruins.

Bild Manuel Lopez
Step 8: Build a Mayan Tower in the middle of the course.

Fotos Andr Maurer Manuel Lopez
Step 9: Add some green jungle plants to the course.

Foto www.andremaurer.ch
Step 10: Apply some reed mats to the landings.

Fotos Andr Maurer Manuel Lopez
Step 11: Steal some animals from the zoo and set them free on the course.

Fotos Andr Maurer Manuel Lopez
Step 12: Get the best air brusher in town to paint some insane Mayan gods.

Bild Manuel Lopez
Step 13: Put a brand new car right in the middle of the course.

Foto www.andremaurer.ch
Step 14: Set up the entrance.

Foto www.andremaurer.ch
Step 15: Brand all features.

Bild Manuel Lopez
Step 16: Enjoy the view and wait for the athletes to throw down their maddest tricks.

Don't miss the Swatch Rocket Air on April 29th-30th 2016!

Live Stream Times:

8 pm CET Saturday, April 30
7 pm BST Saturday, April 30
2 pm EST Saturday, April 30
11am PST Saturday, April 30
4 am AEST Sunday, May 1st
6 am NZST Sunday, May 1st

Watch it live on Pinkbike, here.


MENTIONS: @flyingmetal / @FMBA

Must Read This Week






19 Comments

  • + 19
 the car in the middle is for the trial or to remind us how much we pollute the jungle?
[Reply]
  • + 24
 SPOILER! they Burn the Car at the end of the show in honor of our dying nature..
[Reply]
  • + 2
 it's because you need sponsors like this to make events happen!
[Reply]
  • + 4
 so, is it a reason not to ironize about it ?
[Reply]
  • + 7
 There is actually a massive dong on the elephant. Nicely done.
[Reply]
  • + 5
 @paulclarke: Eyebrow raised in honour of you looking for said dong, but indeed, props to the crew for going the extra mile.

That said, I went back to look and verify. Not sure what that means...
[Reply]
  • + 2
 @iammarkstewart: I did the same thing lol
[Reply]
  • + 4
 Anyone know how I could get involved with the art side of these type of events?
[Reply]
  • + 4
 Pretty awesome!!! Looking forward to watching the event, best of luck to our Canadian riders !
[Reply]
  • + 3
 I liking the theme more this year then last. the artists are doing a spectacular job!
[Reply]
  • + 4
 Great art work, even managing to sneak a massive c**k on the elephant!
[Reply]
  • + 2
 Damn. How is it possible you have such a knack for spotting elephant dick?
[Reply]
  • + 2
 @speed10: I have an eagle eye buddy!
[Reply]
  • + 2
 @Smiffy79: a true dick detective. A private eye with an eye for privates.
[Reply]
  • + 1
 Should have used an angle grinder on those reeds... hands hurt a lot less after.... just saying...
[Reply]
  • + 1
 This looks awesome this year.
[Reply]
  • + 1
 And welcome too the stage.... Axl/DC!
[Reply]

Post a Comment



Copyright © 2000 - 2017. Pinkbike.com. All rights reserved.
dv65 0.033185
Mobile Version of Website