Rocks shox boxxer wc not getting full travel

PB Forum :: Mechanics' Lounge
Rocks shox boxxer wc not getting full travel
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Oct 7, 2010 at 12:59 Quote
so i am fairly new to tripple crown forks and not confident deassembling them when i dont know fully what the problem is and what im doing. No matter what i do i cant get the last 3 inches or so out of my fork. I have tried compressing them with no air pressure, still didnt get full travel and i have set the bottom out to as soft as it goes. Any ideas appreciated. thanks

Posted: Oct 7, 2010 at 13:24 Quote
Drop the forks out of the crowns first - this is pretty simple even if you're new to them, just loosen the crown pinch bolts and pull downwards on the fork and it should slide out.

Now you can move each leg individually and see exactly which side the problem is in.

Without seeing the fork it's impossible to tell your problem, but from what you've described I'd guess there is too much oil in the forks. This could be in either leg or both.

It's pretty simple to fix this, boxxers come apart fairly easily, and you dont even need to fully disassemble them.

Begin by undoing the bolts on the bottom of the fork legs, but leave them about three turns from being fully removed. Keeping the fork upsidedown, give them a firm tap with a plastic mallet - you should feel the damping and spring rods disengage from where they sit in the lowers. Remove both bolts fully.

Carefully turn the forks the correct way up again, making sure you have a container under each leg - the oil should drain out, although you'll probably need to give the legs a bit of a pump to get it out.