Tr450 or M9

PB Forum :: Downhill
Tr450 or M9
Posted: Dec 13, 2010 at 7:08 Quote
ninjatarian wrote:
z-man wrote:
tobiebiker wrote:
over seas hand made either way a weld is a weld but the m9 is only built for dh it jumps like old people f*ck its weird awkward and no one wants to say it but everybody knows they shouldnt be doing it
a weld is absolutely not a weld, even that matirial sourced from over seas have higher impurities in them, then our frame matirials do. Over seas you have 30 guys each doing a separate weld on the production line. I am a welder and i can tell you a weld is not a f*cking weld, there are so many variability, and when welding high alloyed aluminum you need to keep ALL impurities out of the base material, and to do this you need to have a very skilled tig welder. As we speak, i have a demo 8 II and a knolly podium right beside me, the demo has craters from not using sufficient filler at the end of each weld, slightly uneven footing in some spots, and its not the most even. Now i take a look at the knolly, everything is f*cking beautiful! the puddle is beautifully wet out, no craters, no cold lad, and everything is beautifully even.
i wouldn't even compare a over seas frame to a nice north American frame made by hand.

I have argued that entire made in America point so many times but people don't seem to want to believe it. The fit and finish on my current Taiwanese frame is not so great. I miss my Kingfisher. My next bike will be made in America. That said, I vote Intense.

Ever had one?, they sure are pretty, great welds too, Ive never seen one break at the welds, they break in other places.
Ive had 2 Intense bikes, both were not built straight.
Ive had over a dozen taiwanese bikes, never had a bent one or ever broke one