Aggresive Hardtails Post Em !

PB Forum :: Freeride & Slopestyle
Aggresive Hardtails Post Em !
Posted: Jan 24, 2020 at 23:35 Quote
Hi everyone,

I'm rebuilding my BTR and I'm looking for new brakes. I use this bike in quite different environments, from singletrail to bike park, and until now I've had Magura MT5, then Magura with Shimano Zee levers... Magura MT5 behaved very well with the exception of the impact resistance... I was happy with them but I'm kind of thinking of trying something else... I'm looking for some enduro/gravity brakes, I don't like Hope brakes, I don't like their look, and I don't have unlimited budget... I'm curious, what brakes do you use?

Cheers,

Posted: Jan 25, 2020 at 1:56 Quote
TRP's are pretty good value in nz, enough power and good modulation.

Posted: Jan 25, 2020 at 2:11 Quote
I’ve been using m7000 slx brakes for the past 2 years. Had the usual wandering bite point at first but gave them a good bleed, stuck some semi metallic pads in and put on some 203 rotors front and back. Been faultless ever since and never felt like I’ve needed more. Granted your terrain might be more brutal than what I ride but still I’ve been impressed with them. I was eyeing up some formula curas after seeing some solid reviews. Good power and reasonable price. They look pretty sleek too.

Posted: Jan 25, 2020 at 2:18 Quote
I had magura mt5s, good brakes but wanted something more.. But the same power and modulated, but built better.
Picked up a pair of sram code rsc’s off eBay paired them with trp 42 rotors, I’m happy with them.

Posted: Jan 25, 2020 at 5:35 Quote
red-o wrote:
Hi everyone,