New to Downhill , what training is the best?

PB Forum :: Fitness, Training and Health
New to Downhill , what training is the best?
  • Previous Page
Posted: Jan 18, 2011 at 7:55 Quote
Hello

Basically i'm new to downhill and very paranoid about my weight , so i'm building my dh bike very slowly , so by the time i get fit and loose weight i will be ready.
Im exactly 6ft and exactly 19 stone = 266lb yeah i know very heavy , but i have always been stocky (well built) and don't look overlly fat.
But am very paranoid about breaking bikes and what not , hence me building a steel keewee cromo 8 with monster t and steel azonic cranks LOL.
I just want to know what i need to do in the gym as i start on monday and will be going wednesday's and friday's for now until i get used to it.
And what to eat before and after it.

Thanks allot everyone

Jason

Posted: Mar 4, 2011 at 11:28 Quote
Hey, sucks nobody responded. Do lots of carbio obviosly. I spend a little bit of time on the bike but I like to do lots of running and stairclimbing as my body gets lots of time riding so why do it in the gym. Its important to work all muscles. Lifting weights is very important to lean so I would maybe lift a bit more for toning so do 12-20 reps 3-5 times. I would also reccomend doing like yoga or something like that as it boosts your metabolism. I recently went from 230 pounds down to 162 and now work in a gym so I can answer many questions you may have. Plus if I dont know the answer I can always ask a personal trainer for you lol

Posted: Mar 4, 2011 at 11:41 Quote
brandon22111 wrote: