Beginner "What bike should I get?" Thread

PB Forum :: Beginners
Beginner "What bike should I get?" Thread
Posted: Jan 21, 2019 at 3:37 Quote
Hammer48 wrote:
Have a look on CRC, they have some good deals on hardtails, i.e. Vitus and others, and usually have better components then the big brand names. Even with shipping charges, I got my Vitus 29'r for just over $ 1000.00 usd. I looked for a long time, and found it to be the best deal. Here's a link to CRC, btw, I have no affiliation with them, just a past customer.

https://www.chainreactioncycles.com/us/en/mountain-bikes/hardtail?f=2258
Thank you for the link. I checked the site out, bUT I need to do more research on components so I understand what's what. I'm a real newb when it comes to these kind of bikes. I grew up riding second hand wal mart specials and haven't rode in 15 years +

Posted: Jan 22, 2019 at 2:20 Quote
Rolltide386 wrote:
Hammer48 wrote:
Have a look on CRC, they have some good deals on hardtails, i.e. Vitus and others, and usually have better components then the big brand names. Even with shipping charges, I got my Vitus 29'r for just over $ 1000.00 usd. I looked for a long time, and found it to be the best deal. Here's a link to CRC, btw, I have no affiliation with them, just a past customer.

https://www.chainreactioncycles.com/us/en/mountain-bikes/hardtail?f=2258
Thank you for the link. I checked the site out, bUT I need to do more research on components so I understand what's what. I'm a real newb when it comes to these kind of bikes. I grew up riding second hand wal mart specials and haven't rode in 15 years +

easy. the more cogs in the rear, the better components the rest of the bikes will have (in stock configuration)

pre 2019: (in 2019 decent = 12 speed!)
12 - very good
11 - good
10 - entry level into something decent

9 - pre decent
8 - try not to get this
7 - don't touch

Posted: Jan 22, 2019 at 15:38 Quote