Beginner "What bike should I get?" Thread

PB Forum :: Beginners
Beginner "What bike should I get?" Thread
Posted: Aug 13, 2019 at 14:17 Quote
onyxss wrote:
Kathrinems wrote:
Hi!
I'm looking for a new bike, but I'm still a beginner and don't know a lot about the different components and what's best. I have been riding for around a year on an old Trek Slash 7.
I've looked a lot at the Canyon Spectral WMN AL, but I'm doubting if it should be the 4.0 or 5.0 - if it's worth it with the components to pay the extra for the 5.0 or if the 4.0 is good enough.
My budget is around 2.000€.

- 4.0 (1.699€): https://www.canyon.com/en-de/women-bikes/mountain-bikes/trail-bikes/spectral/spectral-wmn-al-4.0/2212.html?dwvar_2212_pv_rahmenfarbe=RD%2FRD&dwvar_2212_pv_rahmengroesse=M

- 5.0 (2.099€): https://www.canyon.com/en-de/women-bikes/mountain-bikes/trail-bikes/spectral/spectral-wmn-al-5.0/2213.html?dwvar_2213_pv_rahmenfarbe=GY%2FBU&dwvar_2213_pv_rahmengroesse=M

Main difference is that 4.0 is 2x11 drivetrain, 5.0 is 1x12 and better wheels and brakes. IMO you should go for 5.0, price difference is worth it. 2x11 is dead on trail/enduro bikes, also better brakes and wheels are always good :-)

Thank you! :-)

Posted: Aug 13, 2019 at 14:52 Quote
Hello everyone,

After about 7 years of being completely out of MTB environment I decided to come back and start riding again. I do have basic knowledge about bikes, however I used to ride dirt jumping and street bikes. After my recent trip to Big Bear, CA I decided to purchase a DH bike for myself. I am not familiar very well with DH bikes, Please give me several suggestions on where to start my research, and what brands to look at. I rode Trek Session 8 27.5 2019 bike at big bear lake, and honestly loved it, however I am not sure how good that bike is comparing to other brands on the market?