Powered by Outside

Beginner "What bike should I get?" Thread

PB Forum :: Beginners
Beginner "What bike should I get?" Thread
| Next Page
Posted: Nov 12, 2022 at 7:05 Quote
skelsch wrote:
Hi everyone! I am new to mountain biking and I need to get a bike. My local mountain has enduro trails built, and I am currently riding my sisters Ragely Marley until she heals up from injury. I would definitely appreciate any help on the subject!

I am about 5'3 and 150 lbs, looking for a hardtail bike that has an enduro type of style.

My budget is around $1,500, and I will purchase new or used, as long as it is in good condition.

I can ride a medium frame but I am also interested in slightly larger frames so I would go up to a large max. Preferrably aluminum/steel frame material as well due to durability.

Let me know if you have any advice - for bike purchasing, trail riding advice, or just any advice you would give to a new rider. Thanks!

I'm a huge fan of the RSD Middlechild. They have a few build options, but their aluminum frame (what I ride) hits that price range. Here's a review video I made of it a couple months ago. Hope it helps!
https://youtu.be/jN_MOl6NS44

Posted: Dec 11, 2022 at 8:43 Quote
I'm personally a big find of focusing on geometry before parts, as parts are (relatively) easy to swap, but your frame geometry isn't going anywhere. I prefer bikes that feel a bit more playful as opposed to overly fast and stable. Here's a video I made explaining my taste in geometry.

Posted: May 3, 2024 at 13:58 Quote
So I'm looking to buy a used bike for my son (12yo 5'3") have kind of narrowed down by price and availability to a 2017 Specialized FSR and a 2015 Santa Cruz Tallboy LTC both are medium frame, in similar price range, condition and both are converted to 9 speed.
I'm guessing from his current crap bike usage that split will be 50% neighborhood, 30% light trails /dirt roads and 20% mountain trails / mild downhill.