Road Bike Info & Discussion -*ASK ROAD QUESTIONS HERE*-

PB Forum :: Road Cycling and Touring
Road Bike Info & Discussion -*ASK ROAD QUESTIONS HERE*-
Posted: Apr 6, 2020 at 16:23 Quote
newbermuda wrote:
Im a newb on road stuff and i need some sizing advice. 6'2 tall, have a 6'6 wingspan, and currently riding a 56cm steel frame road bike (bought from a friend who ensured me that "56cm fits anyone above 6ft" Blank Stare )

Now that i've done a few bigger rides on it, I find that its fine on gravel/singletrack but it feels sketch on road over 30mph, so I wanna buy something else. is a 61cm too big for someone my size? i'm looking at a specialized CruX expert in that sizing. I also notice that it comes with a 110mm stem. is it a bad idea to upsize on frame and run a shorter stem (like 70-80mm)?
Short stems on road bikes are terrifying. You're likely wanting to land on a 58. What length stem and width bars do you have?

Posted: Apr 6, 2020 at 16:45 Quote
newbermuda wrote:
Im a newb on road stuff and i need some sizing advice. 6'2 tall, have a 6'6 wingspan, and currently riding a 56cm steel frame road bike (bought from a friend who ensured me that "56cm fits anyone above 6ft" Blank Stare )

Now that i've done a few bigger rides on it, I find that its fine on gravel/singletrack but it feels sketch on road over 30mph, so I wanna buy something else. is a 61cm too big for someone my size? i'm looking at a specialized CruX expert in that sizing. I also notice that it comes with a 110mm stem. is it a bad idea to upsize on frame and run a shorter stem (like 70-80mm)?
Off hand, I'd say you're more suited to a 58cm frame with a full length stem... If you're going under 100mm or over 130mm you're compensating for a mis-sized frame. Shorter stems will make a road bike feel less stable also, more twitchy... so you'll be putting yourself right back in the situation you're trying to escape now.

Posted: Apr 6, 2020 at 17:51 Quote