Light 8" DH + a 4x bike ideas?

PB Forum :: Downhill
Light 8" DH + a 4x bike ideas?
  • Previous Page
Posted: Sep 28, 2007 at 22:45 Quote
Hey, I'm starting to check out bikes for next season and was wondering if anyone had some suggestions for a decent cheap 4x bike and a downhill bike. I'm hoping to keep my DH bike as light as possible (40lbs) and don't want too much travel, so 8" is probably lots. Right now I'm riding an 06 SX Trail and it's just not suited to racing. I'm planning on training lots this winter, so the last thing I wanna do is cheap out and get a bike that will slow me down!

That being said, I work in a shop where Norco, Kona, and Cannondale bikes are going to be the best deal. I can also get a bit of a deal on Santa Cruz frames only, and we also carry Banshee, Scott, & Specialized so I'll get an okay price on them. Commencal and Giant might be possible but we don't sell them, and Transition would probably help me out with a decent deal. We can't get Iron Horse in Canada, and I doubt I could get an Intense deal but I'd really like to try for the Sokom.

My ideas are the Norco 4x or the new Banshee 4x bike, or maybe the Kona Bass but it's supposedly more slopestyle.

For DH bikes, maybe buying the Norco Team DH for the parts and selling the frame then putting it on a new v10 - too much travel but the weight savings might compensate. Commencal makes some nice bikes, and Rachel Atherton is on the Supreme DH. I'm having trouble because all the bikes I pick out seem to have more travel and I think that will slow me down!

Steph

Mod
Posted: Sep 29, 2007 at 8:37 Quote