Making a bike girl friendly

PB Forum :: Girl's Clubhouse
Making a bike girl friendly
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Jul 16, 2011 at 15:00 Quote
Hey Ladies,
I need advice on how to make a bike more comfortable and fun for my girlfriend. Shes about 5'2 and just started riding so I built up a hardtail jump frame for her to use. She is starting to get more serious (rides once a month) and I want to make the bike better for her. Shes away for a month so I want to make it a surprise.
I'm a shop mechanic so parts are easy to come by.
Obviously things like lighter wheels would be nice but I want advice on the small details (what seats do girls like, grips...)

the current spec:

small soul cycles loki frame
marzochi exr fork
lx hubs w/ rhyno lite rims
bb5 brakes
sram x5 8spd drivetrain
race face prodigy fr crank 32/24 w/ bashring
beat up wtb saddle
specialized 70mm stem and all mountain bar
odi ruffian grips
2.3 specialized eskar tires

Anybody have any good ideas? Do you girls with smaller hands like small grips or larger padded grips (oury?)
I'm thinking suspension seatpost?

Any help would be awesome!
Super grippy platform pedals or something super mellow?

Posted: Jul 28, 2011 at 11:14 Quote
I guess it really depends on the individual....I LOVE my danger boy peddles...they are pink, have a nice wide platform and spikes that really grip my shoe in place. I moved my break levers so they are easier to reach. I got myself a little squishier seat...my butt kills me after a cross country ride. Get her a seat post clamp that does not need a tool to adjust and in a color that she likes...

Posted: Jul 28, 2011 at 11:39 Quote
I dig my squishy Oury grips and a ladies-specific mtb seat is a good idea since we're a different shape down there Wink If she's going to be riding grippy pedals maybe throw in some of those wrap-around shinguards for the pedalbite. Smile

Posted: Aug 16, 2011 at 16:26 Quote
Super grippy flats and a pair of five tens Smile