Hand fatigue problem HELP!

PB Forum :: Downhill
Hand fatigue problem HELP!
Posted: Jan 16, 2012 at 14:02 Quote
Hey I'm crashing in this forum.
I have been riding for years now DH and all mountain twice a week and have no problem with arm pump at home. But when I go to the alps every year I suffer badly with hand fatigue/arm pump. my hands go completly numb.
I cant figure it out. I work in construction and trained my forearms for months before i went last summer and still suffered
( so I don't think it's about man the f*ck up!!). Death grip? yes maybe
I race DH at home with no issues - short tracks tough 1.50min long.
I like to ride with a low front cockpit and wide bars - I did find some releif by shortening my stem and raising front cockpit but my riding and cornering went to shit!!! it took my weight off the front end.

So any advise or thoughts would be much appreciated

Posted: Jan 16, 2012 at 14:09 Quote
*slowly and awkwardly walks away*

Thread not funny anymore. Peace.

Posted: Jan 16, 2012 at 18:17 Quote
If you don't believe the weak hand thing man, it's been proven they've monitored pros while the rode and checked there forearms after they rode for 10 minutes with a death grip and found massive amounts of blood pooled up in their forearms causing fatigue and pain in the hand and forearm. This isn't a opinion it's a fact all you have to do is look it up. Changing up your bike setup at strengthening your arms helps a lot for sure but you still will get arm pump if you have a death grip on the bars. A lot of people ride loose naturally so they don't get arm pump but a lot have to train themselves to ride loose. I did when I stared racing intermediate and then pro on my dirt bike and once I learned to ride loose it took care of my arm pump mostly.