Which bike? - For AM and DH

PB Forum :: All Mountain, Enduro & Cross-Country
Which bike? - For AM and DH
Previous Page |
Posted: Sep 5, 2011 at 8:58 Quote
Hi,

im sure people hate 'which bike' threads but im quite torn and seeking some advice from more knowledgable heads.

I started riding about 3 months ago, i bought a second hand hardtail and ride mainly downhill, at pedal-a-bike-away nr coleford in FOD. I do some XC/trails aswell but the bike hates it!! Not that it loves the downhill but its fun Smile
I currently have a Specialized P3 2004 hardtail with a Marzocchi 44RLO 140mm fork on it and a few other aftermarket bits.

Now im noticing alot of sales on bikes so am seriously considering abusing my companies cycle to work scheme and buying a new full sus bike. Ive discovered that the type of riding i like would be referred to as all mountain.i.e.

I like riding downhilll the most i think, but i also enjoy trails and want a bike capable of riding blue/red trails and also going on 20+ mile XC rides. I guess what i want is an aggressive trail bike.

I have been looking at alot of bikes and here are the ones im interested in:

Specialized Pitch FSR:
http://www.leisurelakesbikes.com/product/specializedpitchfsrcompmountainbike2011-sale.aspx?&id=14818

Ideally i would get the comp but i cant seem to find that anywhere in my size on offer.

Scott Ransom 20:
http://www.leisurelakesbikes.com/product/scottransom20mountainbike2009-sale.aspx?&id=9320

Lapierre Zesty:
http://www.leisurelakesbikes.com/product/lapierrezesty214allmountainbike2011-sale.aspx?&id=15422

I also REALLY like the Canyon Nerve 6.0 but i dont think ill be able to get that with the cycle to work scheme.

Im open to any suggestions and would be really interested to hear peoples advice on these bikes.

Thank you.

chris

Posted: Sep 5, 2011 at 9:02 Quote