LAD Thread *Banter...... And shtuff.*

PB Forum :: Pinkbike Groups
LAD Thread *Banter...... And shtuff.*
Posted: Feb 12, 2017 at 3:57 Quote
carrot-cruncher wrote:
Completed Tom. What's it for, what are you studying?

Thanks boys.

I'm in my 2nd year at Loughborough University. My course is called sports technology and it's like half engineering, quarter product design and quarter sports science. The idea is that this course leads you into designing products for the sports goods industry e.g. Mountain Bikes, Skis and Snowboards, Garments and Footwear etc by giving you an understanding of not just design and engineering but also ergonomic and biomechanical factors.

I've got an idea for an adjustable geometry bike frame that I might take a year out to design and manufacture, or else pursue it as my final year project. The purpose of the survey is to work out if there's a market for the kind of thing I want to design.

Posted: Feb 12, 2017 at 5:21 Quote
sounds like a rad degree man! i would hope so considering you have to pay Wink

Posted: Feb 12, 2017 at 5:32 Quote
Yeah mate the debt these days is no joke

At least in design/engineering fields you get use of huge amounts of equipment and software and a lot of contact hours - you do at least get value for your £9k. Some of my buddies in the business school are paying £9K for 9-12 hours of lectures a week consisting of mostly knowledge they can read straight out a textbook. Not sure that's value for 9 grand - but apparently our business school is one of the best in the country!?

Posted: Feb 12, 2017 at 13:46 Quote
Sounds interesting Tom. Good luck with it!

O+
Posted: Feb 13, 2017 at 1:55 Quote
Sick! Good luck from me too, loughborough is a really good uni for engineering too!

I think some of the pro uk DH guys do bio mechanics there IIRC from some of their videos.

Posted: Feb 13, 2017 at 2:40 Quote
tom666 wrote:
Yeah mate the debt these days is no joke