All Mountain Build

Previous Page | Next Page
Posted: Jan 28, 2012 at 19:55 Quote
Looking to start an all mountain build from the frame up. I don't have much experience doing builds only light repairs, how much time/effort am i looking at? How difficult will it be to make and tune a bike from scratch?

Posted: Jan 28, 2012 at 20:50 Quote
Depends on your wallet.

Honestly.

Posted: Feb 3, 2012 at 7:37 Quote
Unless you have a huge budget and very fancy tastes, it's usually much cheaper to buy a complete bike and swap some parts. You also save yourself the hassle of building it.

When I wanted to build my am bike I did the calculations and well sometimes just the frame+fork is nearly the price of a full bike. Some bike shops might even credit you the parts you dont want if you buy the new parts there which makes it even more affordable to build your dream bike.

O+
Posted: Feb 3, 2012 at 20:48 Quote
I'm a hack hobby mechanic working in a poorly lit garage. I just finished building a size large Heckler from a complete size medium I had been riding. I changed the fork to a different one while I was at it. It took three hours. I've built a few bikes from scratch so I'm not a complete rookie and I've accumulated the tools I need over a few years.

Don't forget about the tools. You want to be prepared to press or drive in a new headset. Installing your bottom bracket will take a special socket depending on your brand of choice. Are you bleeding your brakes? Are you equipped to re-cable your bike? None of this is insurmountable but budget for the essential tools you will need.

Last weekend I priced for a friend building an all-mountain spec Heckler from used parts on pinkbike. $1350 and I tend to go cheap on some not very bling components (cheap hubs and rims/FSA Pig headset/bargain bucket cranks). At that time there were two complete bikes for sale used but in obviously very good condition and using higher quality components both for $1200. 2 cents