Enduro/AM - The Weight Game

PB Forum :: Pinkbike Groups
Enduro/AM - The Weight Game
Posted: May 8, 2019 at 17:01 Quote
Anyone have opinions on the 2019 banshee Rune?

I found a medium frame for $1k and am thinking about grabbing it to build a bike for the GF by swapping parts off my scout. She's a total beginner so I'm not too concerned about minutia like anti-squat and stuff. I'm just looking for something durable that rides reasonably well to see if she takes to it.

Posted: May 8, 2019 at 17:08 Quote
Nobble wrote:
Anyone have opinions on the 2019 banshee Rune?

I found a medium frame for $1k and am thinking about grabbing it to build a bike for the GF by swapping parts off my scout. She's a total beginner so I'm not too concerned about minutia like anti-squat and stuff. I'm just looking for something durable that rides reasonably well to see if she takes to it.

For a beginner, it's mostly about the fit. Steering geometry to a lesser extent.

Reach is short for a given size, but so is the seat tube. Fits about one size smaller than the nominal size, so size up, if possible.

Head angle is slack, so she'll get some wheel flop at low speeds, but it will be stable and safe on the descents.

Overall, you could do a lot worse.

P.S. Just because you told us to ignore kinematics, here's my take on the kinematics:

Leverage curve: Moderately progressive, designed for an air shock. I like it (with an air shock).
Anti-squat: Low, but not Knolly or Whyte low. Might bob a little, but nothing serious.

Posted: May 8, 2019 at 17:12 Quote
Banshee’s have a tendency to develop cracks so a close inspection would be wise.

Posted: May 8, 2019 at 18:49 Quote
mtbman1980 wrote:
Banshee’s have a tendency to develop cracks so a close inspection would be wise.
I've heard that from a few people.

Posted: May 8, 2019 at 19:23 Quote
wrote:
clapforcanadaa wrote: