Enduro/AM - The Weight Game

PB Forum :: Pinkbike Groups
Enduro/AM - The Weight Game
Posted: Jan 18, 2020 at 22:57 Quote
badbadleroybrown wrote:

I would f*cking pay this guy to spend a week on pinkbike just for entertainment value.
He's intermittently around; https://m.pinkbike.com/u/pvd666/

Posted: Jan 18, 2020 at 23:59 Quote
secondtimeuser wrote:

I scrolled through the "Recent" list on his profile. Eek

Posted: Jan 19, 2020 at 0:53 Quote
R-M-R wrote:
secondtimeuser wrote:

I scrolled through the "Recent" list on his profile. Eek

I think this quote from one of his comments sums it up pretty well: "You know who I am. You can see my portfolio over the past 20 years. I've proven I'm an expert. Read this again...and grow up."

Posted: Jan 19, 2020 at 1:11 Quote
R-M-R wrote:
Gentlemen, let's be reasonable!

I haven't met Mr. Verdone. If he's even half as arrogant and insufferable as described, then that's very unfortunate. Even so, many of the world's greatest scientists, mathematicians, and leaders have been complete jerks. Having good ideas and being a decent human are separate matters. Let's try to separate the merits of the ideas from the personality.

It would also be fair to cut the man some slack on his riding ability. Just as it's possible for a top athlete to have zero clue how to design a bike, it's possible for a designer to have brilliant insights without being a strong rider. It's also possible the unconventional ideas are hindering the riding, which would be a separate matter.

This is not to say he is a brilliant designer, just separating the issues and saying he could be, despite everything else.

To quote Verdone.