Enduro/AM - The Weight Game

PB Forum :: Pinkbike Groups
Enduro/AM - The Weight Game
Posted: Jan 20, 2020 at 6:09 Quote
swan3609 wrote:
Zwift..

Anyone else doing it? I hit 220 today and need to get some legs back underneath me..
It definitely takes some of the boredom out of riding a trainer, but riding a trainer still sucks.

Posted: Jan 20, 2020 at 6:12 Quote
badbadleroybrown wrote:
swan3609 wrote:
Zwift..

Anyone else doing it? I hit 220 today and need to get some legs back underneath me..
It definitely takes some of the boredom out of riding a trainer, but riding a trainer still sucks.

I've been doing it over winter for a couple of years now, unfortunately for me most of my riding is done before work at 6/7am and round here the roads are too icy to risk it.

It takes some of the boredom out of it but to make the most of it you need a controllable trainer, a good playlist and a big fan

Posted: Jan 20, 2020 at 7:35 Quote
It's all about the setup.

I used to ride rollers and what not, but recently tried a friends direct-drive trainer and for once I felt like I could actually put the power down.

Problem is, most of the direct-drive trainers are spendy.

I recently noticed that Stac Zero was acquired by 4iiii which is a bummer because they had an affordable zero-contact trainer.

Posted: Jan 20, 2020 at 8:53 Quote
Direct drive is the only way to go... I used to get slippage all the time on my old trainer, and had to warranty the frame twice where it bent from having to tighten down the tensioner so much to try and keep it from slipping. Direct drive is way less drama and you'll never get any slip, plus they react way more quickly to resistance changes so it feels more realistic... I've noticed a lot of wheel on trainers seem like you're half way up a hill before they increase resistance, direct drive feel way better.

Posted: Jan 20, 2020 at 9:27 Quote