Nukeproof Owners Club

PB Forum :: Bikes, Parts, and Gear
Nukeproof Owners Club
Posted: Jul 14, 2019 at 16:14 Quote
buttmonkey5000 wrote:
Looking at a mega 275 but worried it won't climb as good as my remedy, I'd keep the remedy but I'm between sizes with trek and the mega looks spot on at 470 reach on a large.

My mate has a remedy and I have a mega and I'd say the mega climbs way better and the geo is more current too. You can always reach for the cheat switch if its bobbing too much but I generally don't have to.

Posted: Jul 14, 2019 at 23:49 Quote
I work as a m mechanic in a trek dealer and have ridden one on many occasions and I could have got one staff perchase price but I own a mega sooo. I think it's fine there will be a slight difference but nothing massive

Posted: Jul 14, 2019 at 23:58 Quote
Have ridden the Remedy and owned a few Mega’s.
Depending on the models and build kits we’re comparing the Trek may come in a little lighter but personally I think the seated climbing position of the Mega is quite a lot better than the Remedy.
The Mega is a very good climber, despite being a beast on the descents.
I’d say you’ll be pleasantly surprised.

Posted: Jul 15, 2019 at 3:10 Quote
Hmmm that's good to hear, I'd take a slight decrease on uphill to gain alot on the downs, the other bike that high on my list is the transition patrol as it can take a water bottle which is a huge plus to me but the megas win on value...

Posted: Jul 15, 2019 at 10:58 Quote
2018 Nukeproof Mega 275 Comp

Finally finished all the planned (and some unplanned) incremental upgrades to my 2018 275 comp today. Went with some DT Swiss EX511's laced to some Hope Pro 4 hubs front and rear after putting a huge dent in the stock rear wheel on a bikepark trip at the end of last year. Put some Barbieri Anaconda inserts in to protect the rim a bit too and went a size wider up to 2.5 on the high Roller II's.

Previous upgrades include:

Magura MT5 brakes with 200mm rotors front and rear