Automotive General discussion.

PB Forum :: Off-Topic
Automotive General discussion.
| Next Page
Posted: Jan 13, 2021 at 6:35 Quote
The G35 coupe is 2 door, rear wheel drive, and comes with a vq35. The standard sedan is basically the 350 as a sedan. There is a difference, it's just pretty negligible. Any 350z parts will fit on a g35 coupe which shows how similar it is. The sedan I can't really speak for, but I'm pretty sure it comes with the vq35 and 4 wheel drive. Also is the 325i pretty easy to work on? I know that the E46 and the E30's have good aftermarket support, but I've been looking at one from 2012. I'm a little nervous because BMW's are expensive to fix and really complicated.

Posted: 2 days ago Quote
Anyone have any experience with e39 540i s. I found a 6 speed one near me for a reasonable price with high miles but I have no experience with anything newer from BMW.

mountainbiker929 wrote:
Anyone have any experience with e39 540i s. I found a 6 speed one near me for a reasonable price with high miles but I have no experience with anything newer from BMW.
I've heard good things about any of the e series. That said I really don't like getting newer, high mileage BMW's. It's kinda a recipe for disaster.

mountainbiker929 wrote:
friend of mine has one, nice comfortable car, as far as I know he only did basic maintenance although for some reason his rear diff made a clunking sound under heavy acceleration, may have been a bushing

540i is the V8 right?

I know the V6's are dead reliable as long as you do regular maintenance and take care of the cooling system.

A E39 540i is the v8 model of the 5 series. Incidentally, the "E" designation is just a name used within BMW for their different vehicles. They ran out of two digit numbers a while back, so now all the current BMW models are "F", as in F30, etc...