Mechanics Quick Question Thread [Ask Questions Here]

PB Forum :: Mechanics' Lounge
Mechanics Quick Question Thread [Ask Questions Here]
Posted: Mar 25, 2019 at 6:44 Quote
dhmtbr777 wrote:
I’m sure this is a me problem, but what have you guys done about broken derailleur hangers on rare/old frames that don’t have any replacements available. It’s a constant source of anxiety for me, and I was wondering what you guys do?

I’m a machinist but I have no access to a machine to make a new one. I do have lots of people that could make me one, but I don’t want to bug them every time I get a new frame.

For a simple qr hanger all you need is a bandsaw, drill and tap set for threads. You can make it from 1/4" aluminum plate. You can drill holes in one place to make a weak point for breaking.

Posted: Mar 25, 2019 at 6:45 Quote
Hey,
What magura mount do I need? I have a 203mm rotor, and a rear 160 post mount to put the caliper onto.
Would it be qm42 or qm26?
Thanks

Posted: Mar 25, 2019 at 7:02 Quote
Hi, I just got a new to me bike from buysell and the rear shock sounds like it wheezes when it goes through its travel. It's a cane creek rear shock. I don't know the model but its this https://www.pinkbike.com/photo/16948509/ . Is this a problem or should I just ignore it. If it is a problem would I haft to rebuild it or is there somthing else I should do?
Thanks

O+
Posted: Mar 25, 2019 at 7:06 Quote
I've got a quick one. I have a 2014 SRAM GX crank set that I want to put a 30t chain ring on. It has 4 bolts so I figured it would be a 104 bcd, but when I went to throw a 104bcd Race Face narrow wide ring on I found that the bolts where actually further apart than 104mm. Does anyone know what this standard is called and if they make a 30t ring for it? Thanks in advance!

O+
Posted: Mar 25, 2019 at 7:16 Quote
Hammer48 wrote:
BaGearA wrote:
Hammer48 wrote: