Mechanics Quick Question Thread [Ask Questions Here]

PB Forum :: Mechanics' Lounge
Mechanics Quick Question Thread [Ask Questions Here]
Posted: Jun 26, 2019 at 14:09 Quote
Burticus1107 wrote:
bigburd wrote:
Burticus1107 wrote:

It's towards the side sort of a quarter way in and it's deep enough to feel and see when looking at the axle. Will it damage my hub if I ride it?

Any chance of a pic ? It's quite hard to visualise and help with the problem.

But it sounds like as the guy above says you can probably just file or sand down the rough edges, you can't really do any real damage to an axle by dropping it a few feet.
How can I send a picture? I'm quite new to using pinkbike

Not sure how to post on the forum itself so all I do is upload them to pinkbike, make an album and link to the album in the forum.

Posted: Jun 26, 2019 at 14:29 Quote
rclugnut wrote:
Duderz7 wrote:
nojzilla wrote:

what's your cassette? doesn't Zee top out at 36?
There are different zee mechs to accommodate the different close range cassettes. If you're trying to use a wide range cassette with one it would cause the problems you describe.

The zee FR is rated to 36T, I have set it up with 42t on a hardtail, but I will not say it will always work. I added a goat link to improve shifting and it moved the mech enough such that my chain length was off and adding/removing 1 link put it too far in either direction. A 40t cassette may give you better luck. Wouldn't try over 36t on a full suspension either.

There is also the DH version of the zee which is rated to 28t which will fight you even more and give you the issue you are talking about where it sounds like your mech cage is too short.
Using zee DH version , and short range cassette and also not running any chain guide

Posted: Jun 26, 2019 at 14:41 Quote
Bflutz625 wrote:
Burticus1107 wrote:
bigburd wrote: