Mechanics Quick Question Thread [Ask Questions Here]

PB Forum :: Mechanics' Lounge
Mechanics Quick Question Thread [Ask Questions Here]
Posted: Sep 10, 2019 at 9:01 Quote
just installed new Shimano XT 4 piston brake set. The brake pads rattle badly when not under braking. Obviously not felt when climbing, but when descending even at slow speeds they rattle. Vibrations are felt through the entire bike and its very noisy and uncomfortable. Under braking everything is silent and works really well. Any ideas why my pads rattle so bad ?

Posted: Sep 10, 2019 at 9:10 Quote
I will be replacing the bearings on my Diamondback catch and are there certain types of bearing? I have never done this before.

Posted: Sep 10, 2019 at 9:50 Quote
hyroller80 wrote:
just installed new Shimano XT 4 piston brake set. The brake pads rattle badly when not under braking. Obviously not felt when climbing, but when descending even at slow speeds they rattle. Vibrations are felt through the entire bike and its very noisy and uncomfortable. Under braking everything is silent and works really well. Any ideas why my pads rattle so bad ?

Try spreading out the pad spring a little. If these are Ice tec pads (with the heat sink fins), you can also try wrapping a small elastic band at the base of the fin of each pad to mute the noise as the fin rattles back and forth on top of the brake pad slot. This elastic band trick isn't a sure shot so you might have to get non ice tec pads to totally solve the rattle.

Posted: Sep 10, 2019 at 10:00 Quote
sangier wrote:
I will be replacing the bearings on my Diamondback catch and are there certain types of bearing? I have never done this before.