Mechanics Quick Question Thread [Ask Questions Here]

PB Forum :: Mechanics' Lounge
Mechanics Quick Question Thread [Ask Questions Here]
Posted: Mar 27, 2020 at 14:34 Quote
cmcrawfo wrote:
seraph wrote:
You're not gonna reuse the rim unless it's carbon though. Alloy rims can't be re-laced.

You are a really Debbie downer on the marginal maintenance practices today, aren’t you. Wink

I'm a professional wheel builder. We don't reuse alloy rims.

Posted: Mar 27, 2020 at 14:41 Quote
seraph wrote:
You're not gonna reuse the rim unless it's carbon though. Alloy rims can't be re-laced.

Carbon Rovals. the roval hub sucks tho. thinking maybe onyx or CK.

Posted: Mar 27, 2020 at 14:45 Quote
seraph wrote:
cmcrawfo wrote:
seraph wrote:

You are a really Debbie downer on the marginal maintenance practices today, aren’t you. Wink

I'm a professional wheel builder. We don't reuse alloy rims.

Ya, I get it. But just like the repacking of a sealed bearing, it can be pulled off in a pinch... backyard self service standards are ( and should be ) lower than paid for pros.

Posted: Mar 27, 2020 at 14:52 Quote
Just puzzled as to why one cannot reuse an alloy rim?
If it is straight and sound, what is the difference, other than cost?

Posted: Mar 27, 2020 at 14:56 Quote
mark-p wrote:
Same thought

Posted: Mar 27, 2020 at 15:47 Quote
cyberoptixs wrote:
Would a Shimano GS cage derailleur work with a 11-42 cassette and a 32 tooth chainring

Probably answered but I'm running 34 front ring and 11-42 with an xt GS cage with no problems on a fs bike

Posted: Mar 27, 2020 at 16:27 Quote
bike2850 wrote:
mark-p wrote:
Same thought

I honestly feel it’s a throw back to rim brake rims and lower quality rims ( although, at best I am a hack, not a pro) . .. but, nipple holes could have been loaded / bedded in one direction and a re-lace could change that, stressing them. If you feel the rim is in great condition, it shouldn’t pose any risk.