Mechanics Quick Question Thread [Ask Questions Here]

PB Forum :: Mechanics' Lounge
Mechanics Quick Question Thread [Ask Questions Here]
Posted: Nov 24, 2020 at 12:39 Quote
gazmoose wrote:
Thanks, im still fairly new to all of this, I just considered that option as it was cheap. think I will give it a swerve then.

gabriel-mission9 pointed out I had misread the specs. Check out our subsequent posts; there's a chance it could work. Maybe not a top choice, but if it's cheap enough, maybe it's close enough Wink

What bike would it be going on?

Posted: Nov 24, 2020 at 13:19 Quote
R-M-R wrote:
gazmoose wrote:
Thanks, im still fairly new to all of this, I just considered that option as it was cheap. think I will give it a swerve then.

gabriel-mission9 pointed out I had misread the specs. Check out our subsequent posts; there's a chance it could work. Maybe not a top choice, but if it's cheap enough, maybe it's close enough Wink

What bike would it be going on?

a 2015/2016 giant trance. planning on going for a 200x57 length.

Posted: Nov 24, 2020 at 13:44 Quote
High leverage ratio on that one, so it's not a bad candidate. I don't recall exactly how fast the LSR could be on the most open rebound setting for that shock, but I think it was, as gabriel-mission9 said, quite fast. If the only concern is too-slow HSR, that's the least detrimental damping parameter to have a little off.

You've confirmed you won't have tire or frame interference with the longer stroke?

Posted: Nov 25, 2020 at 12:58 Quote
Anyone had this noise from a Monarch before and managed to fix it? I've stripped and rebuilt the shock to the extent that the service manual covers as well as removing the compression and rebound dials but couldn't see anything amiss.

(Not my video but sane problem)

Posted: Nov 25, 2020 at 13:01 Quote
The good old knocking

I read somewhere that the shaft(if i remember corct) is coming loose after some time because there is no locktite

Posted: Nov 25, 2020 at 13:07 Quote