Mechanics Quick Question Thread [Ask Questions Here]

PB Forum :: Mechanics' Lounge
Mechanics Quick Question Thread [Ask Questions Here]
O+
Posted: Dec 4, 2021 at 14:44 Quote
seraph wrote:
I find that shoving the bead into the center channel with the Cush Core tire lever works pretty well. Using a trash can to set the wheel on is a killer hack.

Oh, trash can would work WAY better than the bucket I recommended. The bucket works in a pinch, especially with a friend to help.

O+
Posted: Dec 4, 2021 at 17:05 Quote
They make a tool which basically will help give leverage to pull the bead closer to the center to allow room for a tire lever… this tool works as does a trigger clamp from Lowe’s- probably easier to buy and possibly already have one. I’m a mechanic and honestly I’d say using the trigger clamp is safer as it is rubber versus the tool which is metal. I’ve used the clamp a number times with a decent bit of success. I will say make sure you have a really strong tire lever- cushcore make a weird but really strong lever that works decently. Good luck

Posted: Dec 5, 2021 at 10:03 Quote
melanthius wrote:
FirstFox wrote:
Looking for help with getting a tire off a 40mm wide carbon rim that has cush core installed. its a maxxis minon tire . i have the tire unseated from the bead but the cush core still hold the tire so tight to the i cant get a tire lever under the tire to even get close to being able to have the lever be able to lift the tire bead off the rim. i dont want to damage the carbon rim but im almost at the point of thinking it would be easier to cut the tire off .