Beginner in trial bike

PB Forum :: Observed Biketrials
Beginner in trial bike
  • Previous Page
Posted: Dec 18, 2012 at 23:18 Quote
hello i ride until today only downhill and all mountain bikes and i want to get into trial,rolling trial..
should i get a 20inch bike or 24?
also can i buy a dirt bike as commencal max max or ns holy and wuth a stem and handlebar make it right for trial??
thank you

Posted: Mar 26, 2013 at 5:03 Quote
i disagree with your bike suggestions, if your wanting to learn all the 'pure' trials moves, it's a world of easier to do it on a dedicated seatless machine with the right geometry.

O+
Posted: Mar 27, 2013 at 8:48 Quote
I would say that a 20" trials bike is best to learn on because I started on a 26" bike and then it got stolen so I bought a mod (20") and my progression shot through the roof.

I have no experience on a 24" whatsoever so I can only say what I have heard from the guys who have ridden for a long time and have trustworthy opinions. 24" seems to be a compromise of both 20 and 26" bike, but not particularly in a good way. However everyone is different so who knows the 24" size could be the bike that you learn the best on

tup

Posted: Mar 30, 2013 at 10:36 Quote
Plus a reasonably light and sturdy 20" mod, is not gonna break the bank.
Not quite so for a 24".

Magura Smile

Posted: May 9, 2013 at 12:45 Quote
Let me necro this and ask as well....

I *can* pay for anything I want, that is not my issue, so beyond that:

I am not a good bunny hopper. At all. I need to get better at my pure vertical. I can hop over stuff trail riding just fine, and I jump like the average lame white guy on a bike, but my BH vert is terrible.
I don't like the rolling resistance of 20" wheels; I've never gotten into BMX for this reason.
One of my fav. bikes of all time was a 24" BMX cruiser that I used for playtime and athletic 7-11 runs.