Gloves vs. bare hands

PB Forum :: Dirt Jumping & Street
Gloves vs. bare hands
Posted: Jan 24, 2013 at 15:32 Quote
Psoulocybe wrote:
Bmxerch, I've been riding a bike for 26 years. Trust me when I tell you it doesn't do shit for my hands.

I also want to ask how you think dirt will prevent sweating?

The only thing I know of that works to curb the sweating for a bit is antiperspirant, but it doesn't improve my grip.

Thanks for your guarantee.

It works for me...

My hands don't sweat a whole lot though... So I guess I just don't notice it as much..

Posted: Jan 25, 2013 at 6:05 Quote
bigquotesMy hands don't sweat a whole lot though...

Lucky dog!

I actually came up with an interesting grip solution lately so I don't have to wear gloves for a quick run at the skatepark or quick rides around town.

I'm using Sram foam grips with hockey tape over them. They've actually held up like this for a few months now and are quite comfortable. Only downside is that they're only going to last a couple falls come trail season.

Posted: Jan 25, 2013 at 7:42 Quote
Hockey tape would work...

Especially the White 3M hockey tape. I've got it on my lacrosse sticks butt's and hot damn it sticks like nobodies business.

But usually it's just a handful of dry soil and I'm set for 2-3 hours of riding without worrying about moisture.

Baby powder works too, I've seen a couple guys sprinkle it on their grips.

Posted: Jan 25, 2013 at 7:52 Quote
I use this it puts like a rubbery coating over your hands and it works great. http://liquidgrip.com/

Posted: Jan 25, 2013 at 14:54 Quote
I have some giro dj gloves that I love, but I still prefer bare hands Wink

Posted: Jan 27, 2013 at 0:19 Quote
What's a thin, comfortable glove that lasts a long time? lol

Posted: Jan 27, 2013 at 0:41 Quote
I can't vouch because I've never used them, but I've been considering these Fox Airline gloves. They look pretty thin and comfortable.