"Best" clipless pedals for DH

PB Forum :: Downhill
"Best" clipless pedals for DH
  • Previous Page
Posted: Apr 24, 2013 at 7:53 Quote
Ok, so I'm looking at some clipless pedals for my DH bike. Specifically, Shimano M647, Time Atac DH4, and Crankbrothers Mallet. These are the pedals that I know people ride for DH, but if there are any that I'm missing out on, I'm open for suggestions.

Thanks!

Posted: Apr 24, 2013 at 8:00 Quote
Oh, and BTW, I'm sure there is a thread for this already, I just wasn't able to find it. So please, if you know of one, I would very much appreciate a link!

Posted: Apr 24, 2013 at 11:56 Quote
Personally I like the Mallets. I've been running the same set on my DH bike for almost 5 years now with zero issues, I even run CrankBros pedals on my XC bike (candy's). The entry system on the CrankBros pedals is super simple to get into, forward, backwards, straight down....it doesnt matter, you clip in effortlessly. They are not finicky to mud and other debris as well. Gobs of float so your not popping out when you least expect it...i could go on. I have used shitmano in the past so im not being TOTALLY biased Smile

Posted: Apr 24, 2013 at 12:08 Quote
Haha well that all sounds good! Yeah, I have heard a lot of good stuff about the Mallets! My only problem is, that I would be going for the Mallet DHs, and they are red, and my bike is blue. I'm quite strict when it comes to color combination/coordination (or however you say it) and I think it would look kinda weird with a blue/white build and then those flashy red pedals just seemingly coming out of nowhere! But if they are the superior choice, I might just have to go with it... also, how do you feel about the brass cleats? Do they wear a lot faster than steel cleats?

Thanks for your opinion! Big Grin tup

Posted: Apr 24, 2013 at 13:03 Quote