Stumpjumper FRS Comp Evo or Norco Range Killer B3

PB Forum :: All Mountain, Enduro & Cross-Country
Stumpjumper FRS Comp Evo or Norco Range Killer B3
Previous Page | Next Page
Posted: Sep 1, 2013 at 11:50 Quote
I'm new to the AM world of bikes but looking at these two. Any thoughts or opinions on either one? I've read every review I can find and both have excellent reviews. Not sure which one would climb better and I live in western PA so do have to climb at times.

Posted: Sep 8, 2013 at 0:24 Quote
i would love to help, but all i've done so far is read all the reviews as well. I'm interested to see how this plays out

Posted: Sep 8, 2013 at 5:53 Quote
I can't comment on the Norco, only the stumpy as that's what I currently own. I have the 2013 model and it climbs very well. The auto-sag feature is pretty nifty and I have yet to have any issues with it. Without the shock in climb mode, the bike has a little pedal bob but nothing crazy that's noticeable while riding, I only noticed it when I actually looked down at the shock. When you get up out of the saddle for a steep or tech section, the bike stays solid beneath without sucking your pedaling power. With climb mode on, it's better as the shock firms up, but at least for my style I actually prefer to do most of my climbing with it turned off.

On the downs it's been a great bike as well once I got the revelation swapped out. Coming from racing DH bikes for a few years, I felt the 32mm stanchions a little flexy for me so I went with a marzocchi 55 instead. For the 2014 models they have fixed that though by throwing a pike on there.

***Shameless Plug****

By the way, mine is for sale in a medium if you are interested at all. Only selling to go carbon Smile

Posted: Sep 13, 2013 at 14:53 Quote